WYATT, MATTHEW DIGBY (SIR) #
- Born: 1820 Died: 1877
Architect, of London, and member of the prolific dynasty of architects who were descended from John Wyatt (1675-1742) of Weeford, Staffordshire, for whom see Howard Colvin, A Biographical dictionary of British architects 1600-1840 (3rd edn., 1995), 1102,1121-1123 and Wyatt family tree in Derek Linstrum, Catalogue of the Drawings Collection of the Royal Institute of British Architects: the Wyatt family (1974). Matthew Digby Wyatt, a younger brother of THOMAS HENRY WYATT , was an expert in architectural ornament and in 1862 designed Nos. 24 and 25 Grafton Street, described in The Builder as 'neither more nor less than an effort to adapt some of the more picturesque elements of ancient Irish ornamentation to the decoration of a structure ministering to the directly utilitarian exigencies of the present day'.(1) Wyatt exhibited the design at the Royal Academy in 1862 (no. 900).
See WORKS, for Irish work only.
(1) B 21, 18 Jul 1863, 514.
2 work entries listed in chronological order for WYATT, MATTHEW DIGBY (SIR) #
|Building:||CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, GRAFTON STREET, NO. 024-25|
|Nature:||Celtic revival commercial premises. Design for '25, Grafton Street, Dublin, for William Longfield, Esq.; revival of ancient Irish architecture, etc.' exh. RA 1862.. Builder: Michael Meade.|
RA 1862, no. 900; B 21, 18 Jul 1863, 514,515(illus.); IB 51, 20 Mar 1909, 166; Douglas Scott Richardson, Gothic Revival Architecture in Ireland (1983), 381-384,229-230(illus.); Christine Casey, The Buildings of Ireland: Dublin (2005), 520.
|Building:||CO. LEITRIM, LOUGH RYNN|
|Nature:||New estate offices.|
Set of undated drawings in Clements collection, Killadoon House, Celbridge, Co. Kildare (see Lough Rynn Drawings Collection list in IAA); RA 1871, no. 878; A.P.W. Malcomson, The Clements Archive (Dublin: Irish Manuscripts Commission, 2010), 246,250.
|Wyatt, Matthew Digby||'A few observations on the early habitations of the Irish, and especially the crannoges or lake castles'
||1858||Paper delivered to RIBA, 1857, published in RIBA Transactions 1st series, Vol. 8 (1857/1858), 61-65. Abstract in Civil Engineer and Architect's Journal 212 (Mar 1858), 75-77.